Entering 2020, Colorado business owners need to prepare for some regulation changes. Standards with wage and shift laws are changing and the revisions may impact your day-to-day operations. To obtain the most updated info on best practices, take a look at what you need to know this year:
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE) have updated multiple regulations to the Colorado Overtime & Minimum Pay Standards (COMPS) Order. These changes have been made to protect workers from poor supervision The two most significant updates are:
Law Application in Colorado Industries
Laws regarding Colorado wages and hours only previously applied to
- retail and service industry
- food and beverages
- commercial support services
- health and medical industries
Going forward, the standards will apply to all Colorado workers. There will continue to be specific exemptions as before.
Starting in July 2020, per the new revisions, there will be a change in the minimum salary that a white-collar employee needs to earn to avoid being eligible for overtime. Going forward the minimum salary will change from $26,600 per year to $42,500 per year. The salary will continue to increase each year until 2026.
Further Regulation Changes
There will be additional revisions to the existing COMPS Order including adding and removing exemptions for certain businesses, guaranteeing breaks or compensation, and requiring that employees be informed of the COMPS order via postings or employee handbooks. For more information, check out this article that thoroughly lays out the stipulations.
Add Better Staff to Your Team with Job Store!
To learn more about relevant updates that can help your business thrive, contact Job Store Staffing. We can help you identify strengths and weaknesses in your operation and keep you in the loop on everything happening in your industry.